About

Hospice of Westchester (HOW) was established in 1992 and is a New York State licensed and Medicare certified 501 (c) 3 not-for-profit organization that provides end-of-life care to residents in Westchester County. HOW emphasizes compassion, dignity and respect and we treat anyone with any life limiting diagnosis. HOW is committed to providing compassionate end-of-life care. We combine the highest level of medical expertise with emotional and spiritual support, enabling individuals and their loved ones to make the most of each day. Hospice services are provided wherever the patient resides, whether in a private home, skilled nursing facility, or an assisted living facility. HOW provides care through an interdisciplinary team, in collaboration with the patient's primary physician and the patient's family. Hospice services are provided regardless of the patient's ability to pay.

 

 

Staff

Mary K. Spengler, RN, MS, LNHA
Chief Executive Officer
mspengler@hospiceofwestchester.com


Gary Tatz, MD
Medical Director
info@hospiceofwestchester.com


Gary Tatz, MD
Pediatric Medical Advisor
info@hospiceofwestchester.com


Mary Pat Barden, RN, BSN, CHPN
Patient Care Coordinator/NH Team
mpbarden@hospiceofwestchester.com


Nancy Caputi, RN, BA
Pediatric Nurse Coordinator
ncaputi@hospiceofwestchester.com

Laura Lemos-Vidarte, RN, AAS
Patient Care Coordinator/Home Team
llemos-vidarte@hospiceofwestchester.com


Joan Jacobus, LCSW, MBA
Volunteer Director
jjacobus@hospiceofwestchester.com


Tim Riordan
Director of Finance
triordan@hospiceofwestchester.com


Holly Benedict
Director of Development & Public Relations
hbenedict@hospiceofwestchester.com


Board of Directors

"It is an honor to be involved with Hospice of Westchester and to serve as chairman of the Board of Directors. For 30 years, the organization’s staff and volunteers, with their exceptional skill and extraordinary care, have guided Westchester County residents along their most important journeys. The compassionate end-of-life care they provide makes a true difference in the lives of our patients and their families." - William F. Flooks, Jr.

When someone is on hospice care it is so important to have the family be around to celebrate the person’s life and that’s why Hospice is so wonderful...”

DONATE